Sunday, March 23, 2008

Raikkonen storms to victory in Malaysia

World champion Kimi Raikkonen takes a dominant win in Sepang, finishing 19.5 seconds ahead of BMW Sauber's Robert Kubica. Heikki Kovalainen is third for McLaren.Toyota's Jarno Trulli is fourth ahead of Lewis McLaren in the second McLaren. The remaining points go to BMW Sauber's Nick Heidfeld, Red Bull's Mark Webber and Renault's Fernando Alonso. Kimi Raikkonen made a good start and challenged Felipe Massa down the inside of turn one, but the Brazilian wasn't having any of it and outbraked his Ferrari team mate to retain the lead. Meanwhile the two McLarens had a good start after their five-place penalties for blocking in qualifying, climbing to fifth and seventh. Massa led Raikkonen, Kubica, Webber, Hamilton, Trulli, Kovalainen, Coulthard, Heidfeld and Alonso.

Kimi Raikkonen cruised to his first win of the season, to close to within three points of championship leader Lewis Hamilton. Robert Kubica continued BMW's impressive start to the season taking second place ahead of Heikki Kovalainen taking his first podium for McLaren. Jarno Trulli fended off a late challenge from Lewis Hamilton to take fourth place for Toyota, while Hamilton's fifth place kept him the lead in the drivers' championship. Nick Heidfeld finished sixth ahead of Mark Webber and Fernando Alonso taking the final point for Renault.